Uncle Dave Turns 50!

 
So my Uncle David turned 50 on September 19th. I know this post is late, but I will serve no wine before it’s time or some shit like that.
My earliest memory of  Uncle Dave is me at the annoying age of 6 or 7 or 9 bothering the ever living shit out of him. Trying to hang out in his room upstairs to play darts and looking through all his cool albums stored in a milk crate. I still remember those Ozzy Osborne album covers, Molly Hatchet posters:

Memories...

 
 And for the life of me, I can not forget the old-school Lord of the Rings poster on the wall. I had no clue what the hell it was or what the wizard guy was pointing at. I also thought it was wierd the two kids at the bottom of the poster had hairy feet. I never asked him about the poster, just accepted it was Uncle Dave’s poster and moved on in my little world.
 
  
 
 
 He also owned the coolest VCR ever. It was my first experience with hi fi and it was then I truly understood you get with you pay for:
 

Not the exact one, but pretty darn close.

 
Dave had all the coolest stereo equipment. I remember the record player complete with a little lint brush for the records and how careful you had to be with each album:
 
A late 20th-century phonograph console and record

Not Dave's but close enough

Then there was the yellow van of love.I think there was a mural on the side, but can’t  remember all that well.

Not his, but again, close enough.

 The yellow van with little metal feet on the pedals that I would be allowed to steer from time to time.  We would drive the mean streets of Levittown lookin’ for trouble. The van had a plush bed, custom cabinets, and a working sink. Damn it was cool.
I am a NY Giants fan because of him.  I was smart enough not to follow his Mets passion, we all can not be perfect.
So now Dave is all grows up and has 3 boys of his own. He bought the house from his parents and now raises his own family there:

Uncle Dave, Aunt Pat, Keith and Mason. Dave is putting his best foot forward.

  
  
 

 

 

UNCLE DAVID’S TWINS FIRST COMMUNION

 

10 Comments on “Uncle Dave Turns 50!”

  1. When you do a tribute, you go all out! This is very, very cool 🙂

    Like

  2. Jeanmarie says:

    So I guess you weren’t annoying at age 8?

    Was that your year to flirt with the good side, but then decided at age 9, the dark side was more fun. 🙂

    wow I don’t remember the posters, but do remember the little lint brush and how careful we had to be with the albums. I also remember me and you sneaking into his room to listen to his music and then hurrying putting it away and dashing out of the room when he came home. 🙂

    Like

    • O'Shea Shenanigans says:

      8 was when I was a Jedi. Then around 9, I became a Sith. How can you NOT remember those posters!? They were awesome! I too remember you and I sneaking into his room and listening to Bad Company on the album Bad Company by the group Bad Company !

      Like

  3. dadshouse says:

    Nice birthday tribute. And my name is David too, so he scores mega points for that.

    I had a cousin with weird ass posters. No hairy feet, but lots of purple lights. CSI learned from the hippies.

    Like

  4. uncle dave says:

    that was great. and i still have my fist vcr.

    Like

  5. Lil sis says:

    I remember uncle Daves parrot, I think his name was Bart

    Like

  6. ChopperPapa says:

    Ahhhh..the original Lord of the Rings movie, I am perfectly comfortable with professing that I own this…its the one that started it all.

    This one is A+ always viewed better with a 1/2 bottle of wine down the gullet…

    Like

    • O'Shea Shenanigans says:

      Chopper Papa- Welcome to the show! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      What isn’t viewed better with a 1/2 bottle of wine down the gullet? 🙂

      Like


A good bartender always listens....

