Getting Stoned

The driveway…what did you think I was talking about? Silly rabbit pot is for retirement.

I knew he was talking about the driveway.

Thanks for the bail out Super Husband you are the woman.

Anyway, I ordered stone to be delivered on Tuesday morning, and true to form Thompson Ridge delivered:

Bottoms up!

Huge dump. Wonder if the truck feels better?

That is 20 tons of 3/4″ crushed grey stone.  It is what we originally had when we moved into the house. After a few years, and rough winter, the driveway looked like this:

Before getting stoned

Driveway Before from bedroom window

The above picture was taken from the upstairs bedroom. You can see the puddles and just how muddy the driveway is. Also,  that safety triangle leaning against a water jug was my little signal to the driver where to put the stone. I knew I would be home for the delivery but with my luck he would come while I was on the shitter and could not get out there fast enough and I would find all my stone dumped onto the grass.

Driveway before from ground level

One can see just how shitty my driveway has become over time.  A giant mud pit. So after the stone was delivered at 10am, I got to work.

I hopped on the big mean Orange machine and spread the stone out using the bucket.

Big Mean Orange Machine at work

I would carry the stone to front of the driveway than dump it. By not dump it will-nilly. Oh no my friends. Fatty McButterpants raised the bucket, then let the stone fall out waterfall style and slowly backing the tractor down the driveway. That way, as the stone fell, it would level out and less I have to spread with the rake later.  This method went on from 10 am until..5pm. 1/2 hour break for lunch. Peanut-butter and jelly sandwhich-crunchy peanutbutter-on white bread, glass of milk. That’s how we roll on the mountain.

Ok and now for the after pics..first a reminder:

Before getting stoned (from bedroom window)

After! Much more betterer

As you can see in the pic above I squared the turn off using the orange string. I can always add more stone to make it more of a curve, we’ll see how this goes for now. I also filled in where the giant boulder that was removed left an indent.  You can also see Laurie’s vegetable garden in the background; plants covered in plastic because we heard the frost warning.

Looks a heluva alot better and is alot nicer to drive on. Still needs to settle a bit and I am sure I will have to add stone here and there, but for the most part one more project off the punch list.

A couple more after pics from the ground:

Big Mean Orange Machine chillin' like a mofo.

6 Comments on “Getting Stoned”

  1. Busy-Dad-E says:

    I’m still rolling w/ laughter about the truck feeling better after the dump. Especially when you have children perhaps, but jokes about poop are always funny. You just have to laugh about it.

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Looks great!!!!!!!. Bet you wish there was a big mean orange machine at Lake Adventure.

    Like

  3. bluesuit12 says:

    What a long day. I’m not sure where you find the time to do all of the house/yard modifications you do, but kudos to you. The driveway looks a lot better.

    Like


A good bartender always listens....

