Trench it

This is how I spend my day on Thursday:

Just keep digging

After all the rain, it became clearly evident that a trench needed to be dug through my yard and back into the woods to carry the rain water to the stream in my backyard. 

A month or so ago I spoke to the Highway Superindentent. He informed me that there used to be a nice open french drain running through my yard. He knows this because he is the one that dug it 10 some odd years ago. When my house was built my shithead builder thought it would be a good idea to cover this open french-drain / dry brook thingy…effectively changing my driveway in a catch-basin for all the road water run-off.  The same shithead builder that botched the Mighty Septic.

So trenching I will go..little by little…

Question is: Do I keep it an open trench kinda like a brook; like it was orginally? Do I make it a french drain? Do I do something like this?

I am not sure which way to go but one thing is for sure, I’ll be digging.

4 Comments on “Trench it”

  1. Busy-Dad-E says:

    I’m a fan of the french drain. The builder of our old house buried so much stuff under the deck, coupled with what appears to be a small underground spring beneath our house that overflows in times of excess rain, that we were unable to keep grass growing in a large segment of the backyard.

    Before putting the house on the market, we parted with about $1600 and had a french drain installed and the yard reseeded. Was definitely worth it because the days of a muddy back yard are long gone and the grass is still doing well 7 months later.

    Like

  2. dadshouse says:

    Are you playing with a big tractor digging tool? I’m jealous! Reminds me of the Men’s Playground where men can pay to play like that:

    http://hotdads.blogspot.com/2009/03/mens-playground-maennerspielplatz.html

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      That park would be great! I would so pay to just try one of the giant backhoes for an hour or so. Yes, that is my big tractor digging tool. Read all about theMighty Septic. It tells the story of how I came into being a tractor owner.

      Like


A good bartender always listens....

