Thanksgiving 2009

So we the Calverton contigency up at our house for Thanksgiving. Here is a play by play photo journal story of our T Day:

9:30am Put Dad to work in the kitchen.

9:30 am the Macy's Day Parade is on

9:35 Dad fed us breakfast

11:09am lookin' out my my back door.

11:35 Grandma contemplating an exit strategy.

11:40am starting the string bean casserole. Or rolling joints.

11:45am Macy's Day Parade winding down

12:27pm Grandma focused on the Westminster Dog Show

12:30pm: Dad likes my hat.

12:27pm: Dad likes my hat

1:45pm Madaghan begging to stay outside.

2:20pm: lunch is served.

5:09pm Dinner prep underway.

So here is where things get interesting. When I went outside to start deep frying the turkey, I discovered something. I heard in my head:” Houston, we have a problem.” See, I filled the pot up with oil and placed in on the burner. I noticed a small drip drip drip…….drip of oil from underneath the pot. “Oh, I must have spilt some on the side of the pot..oh please oh please let that be it.” Wiped it off with a paper towel. Drip Drip Drip…..drip. Crap Crap Crap…..CRAP! it is a leak. How in the hell does a pot just develop tiny pin holes?  I could just move the pot over so the drip is not over the flame. Then again, I could also launch the turkey thirty feet in the air in a firey ball of flamey goodness.

Laurie donned her Super Wife costume and headed off to Gander Mountain. I love Gander Mountain…they were open on Thanksgiving! She went out to a bought a new pot and on with Thanksgiving. Crisis averted, only a minor delay.

5:10 pm: Laurie returns with new pot, turkey frying.

6:05 pm: Turkey is done. Fried, if you will.

8:55 pm: Scott N. and I start the Guitar Hero battle and 4th or 5th Killians.

8:57pm- Maddie steals the camera and snapped this picture of the Christmas tree.

Scott kickin' ass and taking names in Guitar Hero.

9:13pm Dessert and an empty Killian's

This was the last picture I took. I was on my sixth Killians, and well, forgot to take anymore pics. We stayed up until 11pm playing Nintendo Wii.  Grandma Rose kicked ass in bowling-just for the record. And golf.

8 Comments on “Thanksgiving 2009”

  1. Woody says:

    Looks like a nice day to me. Good for you!

    P.S. What the heck are you building? Ever going to let us know the answer to the mystery?

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Oh yeah, it was a good day. Special shout-out to Super Wife for the Gander Mountain shopping trip. Mystery will be unfolded soon. Tough to find time to work on it ya know?

      Like

  2. Woody says:

    P.S. My daughter was so dissappointed that they didn’t have an Up float (house and ballons) in the parade. And since when did the Macy’s parade become a lip sync song and dance variety show? They suck making kids wait through all that crap!!!

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      That has been going on for quite some time now. I am not sure why tho. Even people that can really sing (Cindy Lauper) even lip sync during the parade. I agree with you, the singers should sing live.

      Like

  3. Woody says:

    I’ve always wanted to try fried turkey. Hard to make that leap when my wife does such a great job cooking one the old fashioned way though. She’s a regular Betty Crocker.

    Like

  4. Eugene says:

    Did you get Wii Sports Resorts yet? I didn’t but Jess’ family has it. It’s so much fun with the 100 pin bowling. Also Wii Fit Plus has so many extra kewl games in, two must pick ups, in my opinion

    Like


A good bartender always listens....

