Bar Build 027

This weekend I decided to make a mess in the bar. Laurie and Madaghan high-tailed it down to Long Island running in fear of my circular saw. The ladies hit the road around 8:30am, and I was throwing sawdust by 9.
 
After I was done with the first wall, I thought it was a good time to snap a picture. Actually, I should have taken a picture when I started to get a nice Before pic.   Woulda coulda shoulda….
 
Here is the (almost) before picture:
What a mess!

What a mess!

Turning the corner

Turning the corner

I was cruising along, measuring twice, cutting once,then verifying number of fingers. I soon met up with a stubborn electrical outlet. The position of the testy outlet was such that it meant the seams of the boards would have come right down the middle of the outlet. Another words, I would have to cut the outlet hole in two boards instead of just one and I think it would have looked like shit. That, my friends is a run-on sentence and I’m waving my hands in the air ’cause I just don’t care.
What to do?
I decided to remove the box from the left side of the stud to the right side of the stud. Easy right? No. The junction box in the picture below was King Junction Box. He was glued, screwed and welded to the stud. He needed a little persuasion to relinquish his death grip on the stud. Jeez and rice, I had to use a crowbar and my Irish temper to wrestle it free but not without a casualty. King Junction Box was no more. Stabbed in the side by a crowbar. Kiss my ass stupid plastic box.
What happens when crowbar meets plastic outlet box.

What happens when crowbar meets plastic outlet box.

The pic below is the box much more betterer. Notice now it is in position between the two seams. That was what all the hoopla was about in the picture above.

Outlet in between the seams

Outlet in between the seams. Looks good, except that it is white. Need to change them out to brown. Craaaap. Add to the to-do list.

 

Wainscotting complete

Wainscotting complete

 

006

 

007

 

Wainscoting is complete! One project down, one million to go.

4 Comments on “Bar Build 027”

  1. Woody says:

    Looking good!

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Thanks Woody! When it is all complete, you and your family will have to come out for a visit. The girls can play the Wii and you and I can have a few. I figure the bar should be done by Opening Day 2010.

      Like

  2. Jeanmarie says:

    Looks real nice. I know it was a PITA but I like the outlet centered and not a seam down the middle. way to hang in there and not give up even with the king junction box death grip. way to use that Irish temper to your advantage!~Jeams

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Plastic Junction Box Vs. Crowbar Irish Temper. I did not want the outlet to be right in the middle of the seam. Especially right there because that is probably one of the few outlets in the bar that will be visible. Most people would not notice it, but it would bother me everyday. So for a 1/2 hour wrestling with King Junction, it was worth it. Hope to see you soon!

      Like


A good bartender always listens....

