Labor Day Weekend.

Oh nelly did we have a busy Labor Day weekend. Laurie, Maddie and I went out to Riverhead to spend time with the O’Shea contingency. My brother Keith, his wife Caroline and their daughter Alexa came down from Rhode Island to join in on the fun.

We drove to Long Island Friday night at 5pm. Why? Laurie loooves traffic for some reason.  I wanted to leave later, but she wanted to leave right from work. So we left right from work. On the way down, we stopped at Fuddrucker’s for a cheeseburger. Ever been to Fuddruckers? Don’t go. The burgers are outstanding do not get me wrong-Very good in fact. But the place is a dive, and the service is severly lacking. The kids behind the counter could care less about the customers,they barely even look at you or even say hello.  After we ate, we hit the road again. Oh, I should tell you that we were in seperate cars. I had to work Monday and Laurie did not. So, the plan was to leave my VW at Laurie’s parents in Wantagh, than continue on to Riverhead in the Saturn. I also want to tell you that I picked up two way radios for the trip. Awesome idea by me. These walkie talkies have a range of 18 miles, I guess they made some improvements since I last used walkie talkies. Remember those? Lucky if you could hear your friend in the backyard.  It made following each other easier. Surprisingly, we arrived in Wantagh without alot of traffic. We said our hellos, Maddie used the potty, and back on the road we went. Around 9pm we arrived in Riverhead, said our hellos, Maddie used the potty and to bed we went.

Sometime the next morning, Keith called and said that while on the ferry he realized he was out of gas. Actually, he confessed he drove for 15 minutes with fuel light on. I am not really sure why. Maybe he thought the “E” stood for “enough”?  When the ferry lands at Orient Point, there is a gas station 3 miles down the road-but he was not 100% confident he could make it there.  Those college educated types, I’ll tell ya.  So, after I donned my Superbrother cape and my Dad donned his SuperDad cape, off we went.

Here is a few pictures of Senior Gascan on his journey to help us save the family.

The Gas Can on it's Journey.

GasCan starts his journey.

 

GasCan in a field.

GasCan in a field.

GasCan catching up on sports.

GasCan catching up on sports.

GasCan at Martha Clara's Vineyard

GasCan at Martha Clara's Vineyard

GasCan wanted to commit suicide. We talked him out of it. Told him Keith needed him.

GasCan wanted to commit suicide. We talked him out of it. Told him Keith needed him.

GasCan finally happy. He destiny is going to be fulfilled. (get it?)

GasCan finally happy. He destiny is going to be fulfilled. (get it?)

Dad fulfilling Gascan's destiny. With no socks.

Dad fulfilling Gascan's destiny. With no socks.

How much to fullfill a destiny?

How much to fullfill a destiny?

The gas station Keith could not make it too. Ferry is 3.1 miles from here...

The gas station Keith could not make it to. Ferry is 3.1 miles from here...

Keith is excited to see GasCan. Or the kick is good, not sure.

Keith is excited to Senor GasCan. Or the kick is good, not sure.

Action shot of what he should have done in Rhode Island.

Action shot of what he should have taken place in Rhode Island.

Yeahh!! Made it!

Yeahh!! Made it! Wonder if they have diesel?

So another successful rescue attempt by Senor Gascan, SuperBrother and SuperDad.  We put our capes away, and headed for the pool!

 

Grandma Rose, Caroline and Alexa sitting poolside. Dad entering the bathroom with towel on head.

Grandma Rose, Caroline and Alexa sitting poolside. Dad entering the bathroom with towel on head.

Keith and Madaghan

Keith and Madaghan

Sorry girls, we can not choose our family.

Sorry girls, we can not choose our family.

 Labor Day Weekend 2009 050

I can throw my daughter higher than you can throw yours.

Who can toss their daughter higher?

 

Cheerleading camp here we come!

Cheerleading camp here we come!

Go team go!

Go team go!

And the crowd goes wild!

And the crowd goes wild!

Look ma! One hand!

Look ma! One hand!

After cheerleading practice, it was time to head home for some dinner. Dad elected to walk.
Rare shot of Dad walking without Gracie.

Rare shot of Dad walking without Gracie.

Back at the crib, Laurie and I gave Alexa pajamas that matched Madaghans. I know, too damn cute.
Two princesses

Two princesses

The next morning, Gracie wanted to play blocks with Alexa. Actually, I think it was Gracie’s idea.
I feel like a blockhead.

I feel like a blockhead.

Gracie loves blocks. Three of them in fact.

Gracie loves blocks. Three of them in fact.

After breakfast, Laurie wanted to get Maddie a costume for her Disney birthday party in December. What better place than the outlets!? on Labor Day weekend!? Will LIF rear its ugly head? Kind of, but not bad. Keith and Caroline joined us and to make things more fun we bought those walkie-talkies I told you about. Spent about and hour in the Disney outlet and Maddie chose a Snow White costume. It was not bad at all actually or maybe I am learning to relax and enjoy the moments? Not sure. After shopping it was time for lunch. Laurie had a hankering for Pumpkin Coffee from Panera bread and would strangle anyone that stood in her way of her Pumpkin Coffee. She picked me up some and I can see why she was willing to commit second degree murder for it. To avoid a murder spree, we stopped at Panera while Keith and Caroline continued on to Friendly’s to secure a table. On the walkie talkie Caroline informed me that Alexa fell asleep! So, Keith will go in and get a table while Alexa and her chilled like mo fos in the car. When we arrived at Friendly’s my brother was sitting at a table for 6 all by himself.

After lunch, Laurie and I headed back to the homestead and Keith would be not to far behind. Keith got lost. But luckily found a festival, called the house to let us know about it and off we were again. It was at Martha Clara’s vineyard. The same one GasCan spent some time at. Laurie and I got back in the car and this time the parental units joined us. Maddie wanted to attend the festival in full Snow White get up. No problem. You are only a kid once.

Snow White at the ball in the field.

Snow White at the ball in the field.

Snow White in the sunflower field.

Snow White in the sunflower field.

I got one!!

I got one!!

I got one too!

I got one too!

 

Boooooring

Boooooring

We decided that while the festival was nice for us….it was not fun for kids. Keith thought the festival up the street would be much more better. So off we went and arrived at Braer Family Farm. Keith was right. Tractor rides, popcorn, corn maze, pig races….Good times had by all.

Are my eyes blue?

Are my eyes blue?

Come with me...!

Dad! Did you pay yet?? come on!

Seriously. Pay. Now. Before I kill you fat man.

Seriously. Pay. Now. Before I kill you fat man.

 

ooo What is that?

ooo What is that?

 

Yeee haw!

Yeee haw!

 

Dad ready for the sack race

Dad ready for the sack race

Our next house

Our next house

Me, Keith, Mom, and half of Dad.

Me, Keith, Mom, and half of Dad.

Singing before the pig race.

Singing before the pig race.

Maddie not sure about the corn maze

Maddie not sure about the corn maze

The sign is funny enough

The sign is funny enough

Into the Corn Maze we go. Hopefully we do not find Maliki.

Into the Corn Maze we go. Hopefully we do not find Malachai.

Who the hell is Malachai? Click here.
Have you seen these sunglasses?

Have you seen these sunglasses?

Malachai!! Oh...no just Keith.

Malachai!! Oh...no just Keith.

Labor Day Weekend 2009 132
Goooooo Team Alpha Super Awesome Cool Dynamite Wolf Squadron

Goooooo Team Alpha Super Awesome Cool Dynamite Wolf Squadron

Time for tea!

Time for tea!

And than the camera broke. It was dropped right on the lens and did not make it through the surgery. It now makes a nice paperweight.
It was a fun weekend. Laurie and I left Sunday night and headed to Wantagh than back home.
4 Comments on “Labor Day Weekend.”

  1. Eugene says:

    WoW sounds like a long, fun, busy weekend…Glad to see Senor GasCan, SuperBrother and SuperDad come to the rescue. Good thing you talk Senor GasCan out of committing suicide. 🙂

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Senor GasCan is da man…he had a little bit of a slip up on the way to the ferry terminal, but we he came around, and got off the tracks. He is a true hero.

      Like

  2. Wreath Carrot says:

    Good times had by all, especially me. great photos funny writing as always…see you next weekend at the Ocean State. Don’t forget to fill-up before you leave. I am talking about the gas, since we’ll have plenty of food.

    wish you had to take the ferry to see us, then I could hear about double dragon and all the elbows

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Love the name. Thanks for the writing compliment brother. I am not sure if you noticed or not, but I seem to have what the doctors call a little bit of a weight problem. I will be filling up before I leave AND when I get there. :-).

      Like


A good bartender always listens....

