Blue Moon-A review

Eugen L., a loyal reader to this humble blog commented that I keep raving about Blue Moon beer.

  captain-obvious2A little to much raving if you ask me.

 

No one asked you. As I was saying, Eugene L. real estate extraordinaire commented that I keep raving about Blue Moon. If you have not tried it yet, I highly recommend that do. When the opportunity does arrive, I suggest you drink at least 3 glasses in a row.  If you still do not like it after glass #3, than chances you will never like it. In my opinion, the second glass tastes better than the first.   Of course by the fourth or fifth glass you could be drinking Schlitz and not care.

A lot of people garnish the glass with an orange, but not me. I would rather taste the beer. I have tried it with the orange and honestly, the orange does add a nice flavor. My general rule of thumb is I will add the orange for bottled Blue Moon, skip the orange with the draft. Your mileage will vary.  I think I prefer sans orange because I am just to damn lazy to slice an orange every time I want some Blue Moon from my tap. As a result, I have gotten used to the Blue Moon without the orange.  One thing does remain constant, most reviewers agree that the draft is a heckuva lot mo’ better than the bottle.

 With and without lemon

captain-obvious2Your babbling

 

Your ugly and bald and your cape is stupid.

 

captain-obvious2Easy Fatty McButterpants.

 

Here is a review from the Beer Snob:

“Blue Moon is a Belgian-style white beer. The beer poured to a cloudy orange-copper color. The cloudiness comes from the unfiltered nature of this ale. The color can only be called extremely appropriate, as I smelled orange before my nose even neared the glass.

On the pour I notice a medium head that seems to last a good long while.

The nose, once I got past the orange, also had a nice wheat bread dough aroma to it. I thought it had a very smooth mouth feel to it, with mild carbonation, though I did think it could have been fuller bodied. I tasted wheat bread dough and orange in the beer. Some people like this accompanied by a slice of orange. I tried it once, but I much prefer it standing alone. I think this is a great introduction to wheat as an ingredient in beer.

There are other spice notes in the beer, but spices are my weak point….I have a hard time identifying distinct spices in beers or foods, for some reason.

This beer says it is bottled by Blue Moon Brewing Co., but this is really a Coors product. I think it is, overall, a nice change of pace from the usual, and a great summertime, or even springtime, beer. Very refreshing and light. I think it’s a good introduction to wheat-type beers. It’s subtle enough to get you used to the idea without being so overpoweringly wheat as to turn you off of them forever.”

 

 

Here is a review from The Brew Club

“Blue Moon is an American ‘craft’ wheat beer lovingly brewed by artisan brewers at the ‘Blue Moon Brewing Company’.  Indeed the brew was indeed created by the brewmaster – Keith Villa – at the Blue Moon microbrewery at ‘The Sandlot’ stadium in Denver, Colorado. However the success of the brew means that it is now mass produced by the microbrewery’s parent company – Molson Coors.

The beer was first known as ‘Bellyslide Belgian White’ when it was first brewed in 1995, but legal action by the Confederation des Brasseries de Belgique (The Confederation of Belgian Breweries) meant that the beer had to be renamed for fear of misleading consumers that it was a product from Belgium.

The recipe includes ‘White Wheat, Oats, Coriander and Orange Peel’ and while many wheat beers are sometimes served with a slice of lemon, Blue Moon encourages the addition of a slice of orange to further enhance the orange flavor.  No thanks.

So, a healthy pour, a good, if cloudy head and a heavy nose of orange peel and coriander. The beer comes in 330ml bottles rather than 500ml bottles as is traditional for wheat beers in Europe, so unless Blue Moon make a smaller size wheat beer glass the brew would be somewhat lost in a traditional wheat beer glass.

The orange peel flavor comes through in the taste as well, the underlying flavor is sharp, if not tart, but refreshing for all that. The beer is unfiltered, which adds additional cloudiness and leaves considerable sediment in the bottom of the glass.

This is a good wheat beer, almost a great wheat beer. In the same way that some craft brewers overdo the hoppiness of an ale, this is a little too ‘in your face’.  I wouldn’t refuse it, particularly on a hot summer’s day, but if I was thinking about a wheat beer, I think I would go for Grolsch Premium Weizen or Kronenbourg Blanc.”

 

There you have it!

captain-obvious2That is only two reviews! And both are positive!

 

I could’ve found some negative reviews, but that’s not how I roll. I like this beer and I’m trying to boost it up to my loyal readers so when they eventually come to O’Shea’s Neighborhood Bar they will order a Blue Moon with confidence.

If you or someone you know has ever tried Blue Moon, tell me about!

6 Comments on “Blue Moon-A review”

  1. Eugene says:

    and boost it up you have my friend…boost up it you have…

    Like

  2. Me says:

    I totally agree with Eugene, too much yakity,yakity yak about Blue Moon Beer.

    Like

  3. HA! Love the outfit! I think one could do much worse than Blue Moon. Even their ‘seasonal’ brews are decent. Its a nice switch from the ordinary, but not something that will shock anyone either. Its a good effort by Coors. (Skip the orange slice though!)

    Pine Bush, NY??? I know people who live there who used to be from Jersey.

    Cheers!

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      Hey Scott welcome to the show. I agree- sort of. Pass on the orange slice here at home with Blue Moon on tap. When it comes out of a bottle, gimme the orange. Yes, Pine Bush, NY.

      Like

  4. dad-orheyyou says:

    That old guy in the cape, wasn’t that Warren from Ronkonkoma?

    Like


A good bartender always listens....

