GE Repairman

So around 4pm the GE repair man arrived. I got a phone call from GE around 3:30. It was automatic recording informing I was next! I could not believe it! He showed up and fixed the automatic defroster element. Of course it was not covered under warranty, but we did get the part at a pro-rated price. Half hour and 108 dollars later the fridge was working.  GE sends their own factory trained people out to fix their appliances. Sure, one would think if they built it right in the first place, you wouldn’t need techs. But, GE got the service calls right. I did not even have to call a 1-800 number. I even made the appointment online! GE restored my faith in service calls, and the next appliance we buy will be a GE.

Here is a picture from partswizard.com of the defrost assembly. The glass tube on mine was shattered from, well, to be honest, poor craftsmanship. The new assembly that was installed has two glass tubes. If GE knew the assembly sucked so much to warrant a new design, why was I charged 100 bucks? Anyway, I will still buy GE all because of the “Your Next” call.

The culprit

The culprit

3 Comments on “GE Repairman”

  1. Jeanmarie says:

    Wow what svc. I like the automated “you’re next” call. Glad it all worked out.

    Like

    • oshea12566 says:

      The “you’re next” call was a nice touch. Gave me a warm and fuzzy feeling knowing that GE cares about what I am doing. Or they care about what their service guy might find.

      Like

  2. P.Pooler says:

    Imagine a big company like GE, actually thinking about their customers. Someone should alert the news media.

    Like


A good bartender always listens....

