A Cold Winter’s Morn

Snowed last night. Again. Sierra our beloved 11 year old Husky refused to come in. Wierd…a Siberian Husky that likes snow…out of our own guilt of seeing him outside (what we believe )freezing, we used to ask him if he wants to come in. It was always a fruitless venture. We realized that it was silly of to be standing in the snow begging a dog tailer made for snow to come into a 70 degree house while wearing a fur coat. We no longer ask. If he barks at the door, he comes in that simple. I took a few pictures of his Royalness surveying his kingdom.
I am serious fat man. I am not coming in. I will kill you in your sleep.

I am serious fat man. I am not coming in. I will kill you in your sleep.

For the last time, I do not care it is snowing, I am a Husky. I am not coming in. Do not make me turn my head again.

For the last time, I do not care it is snowing, I am a Husky. I am not coming in. Do not make me turn my head again.

 

For this storm, I actually paid attention to the forecasts and surmised a simple plan: Put the bad-ass Jetta out in the snow and keep the tractor warm and clean in the garage. By now you are probably pondering “what in the hell is that boy doing?…why oh why is he putting the Mean Orange Machine into the garage?”  Turns out, the diesel engine does not like extreme cold. Go figure. Sometimes I will start it up and it’ll run rough for 15 minutes or so. Plus, the seat gets full of snow and wet. Just a pain in the butt and I did not want to clean the seat off or damage the engine. I’ll have you know my plan worked like a charm. I know that you are impressed. Like I said in previous posts, I am awesome.  Got me thinking that Laurie and I really really need a garage. So all my readers..Christmas is coming soon please add that to my wish list along with the driveway being paved. Around 10am, I started to plow the driveway. I snapped a picture for those of you still using a shovel or snow blower and for those of you living on the left coast (Mergerbreath the III) that forgot just what it is like to have snow on your driveway.
A view to a plow.

A view to a plow.

Notice the tilt of the blade. Yes, I know so very professional. I start at the left and push all the snow to the right. One can not just plow the snow off the driveway ya know, oh no no.  As the great and powerful Ed once told me, you have to account for the next snow storm. If you don’t leave room and it freezes where the hell ya gonna put da new snow? Ok, Ed does not talk like that or even say h-e-double hockey sticks, but you get my drift. Get it? Drift…snow drift. I am damn funny.

While I was plowin, working hard, being the provider for the family, out hunting and gathering….ok I was just plowing…. Laurie, Maddie and Sierra were builiding there own ski resort in the backyard.

Building their own ski slope.

Building their own ski slope.

After I saw my family having fun, it was time to hop back on the Mean Orange Machine and help out the neighbors. Why? You guessed it, I am awesome. Plus, they have small children and do not plow their driveway or hire someone to do it.  If there is an emergency, how would they get out or an ambulance get to them?  So I paved the way:

Plowing the way for the imaginary ambulance

Plowing the way for the imaginary ambulance

I would hate to look out my window only to see an ambulance dug into the snow and I could have helped. This is the cross I bear.

After the plowing was done, it was time to put the tractor back out in the woods.  After I turned the tractor off, I heard something behind me.

Me on the tractor

Me on the tractor

 I turned around to see what the noise was and saw nothing. I mean, nothing. It was so dark I could not see my hand in front of my face. I thought:”what better time for a pic?” 
Afraid of what I might see when the flash goes off, I turned around and snapped a pic for all of my awesome readers:
Blairwitch

Blairwitch

3 Comments on “A Cold Winter’s Morn”

  1. Jeanmarie says:

    Great pix of Sierra. You are an awesome neighbor. You don’t just shovel it you plow it. (ok lame but you know what I mean. Had many funny comments in my head but my hands just can’t keep up with it so that is what my hands ended up typing. I think it’s a mix of a few funny ones.) . For those of you interested the left coast is having a heat wave here, 84 degrees. kids in shorts and T-shirts. But love the pix of snow. nope don’t miss it a bit. MBIII!!!

    Like


A good bartender always listens....

